What’s In a name?

Step one in the creation of this website was giving it a name.  Of course, this name needed to be appropriate to this site’s purpose. The name was to evoke the glorious sounding of royal trumpets, and clouds parting to let a shaft of bright sunlight burst forth just as a formation of jet fighters thundered across the sky in salutation… all in a humble and muted sort of way. I suppose I hoped it would be clever- something to make my wife smile, tilt her head back slightly and smile and say “awww, that’s so special”.

I wanted to get the point across that there was a gap in my work, while showing what little surviving pieces I could find and showcasing the new things I create.  I thought of using the phrase “dusting off the pencils” or something like that, but that was too blah. I wanted to show some sort of inspiration, along the lines of Homer’s “sing to me, oh muse…”, and thought “dusting off the muse”!  That was no good, as it sounded like slang for some sort of weird sex act, lol.  Then I wondered what the name of the muse of art and painting was, so I made a quick search and was mortified to find this tidbit:

“No muse was identified with the visual arts of painting and sculpture. In ancient Greece sculptors and painters were held in low regard, somewhere between freemen and slaves, their work regarded as mere manual labour.”

How’s that for a slap in the face!  And to add insult to injury, these are my ancestors!  All the muses are dedicated to singing, poetry, music and acting. Four categories, nine muses.  It seems the jag-bag attention whores of Hollywood and MTV have been around for millennia.  Take away the likes of Beethoven and Mozart, 5000 years of actors and singers don’t add up to the likes of a Michelangelo in my humble yet biased opinion.

Anyways…. I started getting frustrated going back and forth in just what sort of name I should use, and thought, “hmm… back and forth”.  Show pieces from “back in the day” and what I do as I move forth. That works!  As Mr. O’laughlin told us in high school English, “keep it simple, stupid!”

Furthermore, in the immortal words of Forest Gump, “stupid is as stupid does!”

Yes folks, I am proud to be that stupid!

2 thoughts on “What’s In a name?

  1. i will be the first to say hello . . . stoopid . . . 0_o
    Louie for some strange odd reason i remember this drawing.
    i don’t know why but i’ve seen it before.

    now the trick would be to take the original poster and make a similar drawing to see if your skill & technique has improved.

    Mr. O used to throw things at me . . .

    way to go Louie on the blog. i will do my best to provide you with some satirical jest on your drawings. please take nothing i say to heart. i know your an amazing artist. . . . 0_o

Leave a Reply

