Guinevere (final)

Here she is, finally complete. Well, actually 99% …since I now see little details that need cleaning up once again because converting to a png file loses millions of colors (even worse for jpeg). I especially see it in the hair, where the drawing file looks so much nicer… the glowing edges of sun thru the hair are not as blended and vibrant in this converted version.   I am pretty happy with this one, mostly as far as a learning experience.  I used about 16 layers or so, at least 10 for the background alone.  In this instance they were for used to fade, blend, shade and highlight various colors for each element of the drawing, and allow me to turn parts on and off to tweak and experiment with how exactly to create the image as I progressed.  The whole endeavor took 6 or 7 hours (all in one sitting!) mostly due to the trial and error process.

Also, here are the lyrics by Rick Wakeman that inspired this paint:

Love me my Guinevere
In my court, Please be near
While our realm is dying
And brave knights are crying
Stay close by my side.
Lancelot felt no fear
Loved his king’s Guinevere
All his love he gave her
Fought through quests to save her
Love, showing the way.
Guinevere
Golden tresses shining in the air
Spread against the Jasper sea.
Sorrow beheld her face
False love supplying grace
Knowing Arthur’s fights
And his trusted knights
Meant more than his Queen.
Guinevere
Golden tresses shining in the air
Spread against the Jasper sea.
Love me my Guinevere
In my court, Please be near
While our realm is dying
And brave knights are crying
Stay close by my side.
Guinevere
Golden tresses shining in the air
Spread against the Jasper sea.

Leave a Reply

