Starbuck (Kara Thrace) w/ slideshow!

 

Attached we find a portrait of actress Katie Sackhoff in the role of Kara Thrace, call sign “Starbuck” from the enormously popular and critically acclaimed reboot of the 70’s TV series Battlestar Galactica…

I had some free time today, and thought I would get some drawing in until I realized I actually had no works in progress.  So I decided it was high time I jumped on a Galactica portrait, as I had assembled resource pics of several characters at least 4 or 5 months ago.  I went ahead with Starbuck here, as I thought she was the best character in the series, on par with Edward James Olmos’s Admiral Adama.  When I first heard the reboot changed the Starbuck character from male to female, I admit I thought it was a gimmick and was skeptical.

As it turns out, she proved to be one of the toughest and coolest female characters ever… and if she ever teamed up with Sigourney Weaver’s “Ripley” from the Aliens franchise, they would easily take over the world.  And we would love it.

I actually never even had the chance to see the show while it ran on the Scifi channel, and only caught it years later on Netflix.  I wound up having marathon viewing sessions, watching 3 or 4 hour blocks each night cause it was so damn good!  My wife thought I was nuts, but I was happily vindicated when last year the comedy show Portlandia dedicated an entire episode to spoofing all the fans who never left the couch for weeks on end watching Galactica on DVD.

Below is a progress slideshow…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

